Blogathon 2011 Insights

This blog entry is the last of Blogathon 2011.  Blogging for 31 days straight was not as easy as I thought it would be, but it wasn’t terrible either. It gave me many insights into what goes into building a successful blog. I know I have a lot to learn, but I have more knowledge than I thought I did.

Blogging is not as easy as it looks. To produce worthwhile content requires some planning. I am not always the best at planning. Many of my fellow blogathoners have editorial calendars or theme days or weeks. Not me, I am more of a fly-by-the-seat-of-my-pants kind of participant. It is hard work to make and stick with a plan. I need to get serious about organizing.

SEO is important, but well written content is more important. If a blogger writes great content, then the SEO element is probably already there. Focus on quality more than search engines.

WordPress can do way more than I know. If I really want to make my blog look professional, I will have to either fork out some money to have someone help me out  or learn a bunch more about WordPress. Having said that, I would really love to learn more.

HTML is a foreign languages in which I should be more conversant. Even though I have some really basic tags, I would love to be able to use more HTML. Another item on the list of things to learn.

There are more great blogs out there than I have time to read! There was a huge number of bloggers participating in Blogathon 2011, unfortunately I did not have time to visit them all. Information overload began to kill me after about four days of trying to read so many blogs.

Bloggers are a supportive and interactive group.  If you choose to participate in the dialog that occurs in blogs, you will most likely always get a reply. Ask questions and someone will answer. The same goes if a blogger needs help. Someone will almost always have something helpful to add to the conversation.

There is no way I can actually list all I have learned. Blogging basics, social media, writing skills and so much more goes into the process of blogging. All the little tips and hints that others shared in the Blogathon 2011 Group and on Michelle Rafter’s WordCount Blog (and others) provided as much the information as an organized class might.

All this wisdom for the low, low price of 31 blog entries, which is a pretty great bargain if you ask me!

2 Comments on “Blogathon 2011 Insights”

  1. Alison Law says:

    Peg, your first insight about planning being a big component of blogging was a big lesson learned for me. I think the challenge would have been much easier for me if I had gone into it with a plan. Still, we made it! Congrats and all the best to you. Alison

    • Peggy says:

      Thanks Alison! I am glad we both made it. It was a great learning experience for me. Now to continue the momentum! Best to you as well.Peg


Let me know what you think!

